No filming this week

I don’t feel that well though I don’t think it’s CoVid, but whatever it’s going to be no vid from me this week. I had the timetable for the bus to get to my next destination, and a list of things to see, and the possibility that now is the best time to go there because it’s a very touristy town and why not go in the off season? It’s a shame because not only am I emotionally invested in making short films and putting them on YT I have also just bought myself a copy of VideoPad to replace Animotica as my editor of choice.

Animotica has served me well for months but it has limitations, not least being vague and it’s hard to keep track of items in a longer project or more accurately one with a larger number of clips (you could have one hour-long take, that would be easy. 50 clips making up a 20-minute film, less so). I went for the pro version of VideoPad not least because it allows three audio tracks, which may sound like a lot but when you consider the first track is the video clips’ audio, and the second will be background music, what happens when you want to drop in, say, a sound effect of a train going past or of birdsong? If you’re limited to two audio tracks then you can’t. To look at the reviews VideoPad is level pegging with Animotica but it has a more traditional desktop (Animotica more resembles Windows’ Video Editor). We shall see.

So given other things I have to do, it looks like – health permitting – it’s filming next Wednesday. And as even ‘tomorrow, go into town with the camera’ is a filming schedule, then I have a schedule.